Larne, Co. Antrim

War Memorials in the Nine Counties of the Province of Ulster, Ireland.

This Web Site is dedicated to the memory of the men and women from Ulster who served in the armed forces of many Allied countries during the Great War (1914-1918) and World War II (939-1945).

The island of Ireland is divided into four provinces which are subdivided into thirty-two counties. Ulster is the most northerly province. In 1914 the whole of Ireland was ruled from London. In 1921 Ireland was divided into two countries, the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland. Ulster consist of the six counties of Northern Ireland (Antrim, Armagh, Down, Londonderry, Fermanagh, Tyrone and the county boroughs of Belfast and Derry/Londonderry), and three counties in the Republic of Ireland Cavan, Donegal and Monaghan.

Conscription was never introduced into Ireland. All members of the Armed Forces who joined from Ireland were volunteers. These volunteers marched away through cheering crowds with fife, drums and rifles.

Many never came back. Many of those who did return were maimed, blinded or demented by the carnage of mechanised war which they had experienced.

In many cases they returned not to a ‘Land fit for heroes’ but to a life of unemployment and poverty.